Navigating the user interface

User interface

Group Selection

Displays the current group of the user. All Projects that are assigned to this group will appear in the project list (directly below). Refer to Groups for instructions on adding/ editing Data Governor groups.

To change your group, click on the drop down box and select a different group.

Project List

A list of projects will be displayed on the left hand side of the screen for the selected user group. Refer to Projects for instructions on adding/ editing Data Governor projects.

Environment

The Perspective Data Governor environment is displayed here. For example, Test, Development, or Prod environments.

Action Ribbon

The action ribbon will display actions that can be performed, such as Add a Job, Save, Continue, Cancel, etc. The action buttons available will vary depending what task is being performed.

Project Details

This area will display your current location within Data Governor. Usually, this will be the name of the current task, job, or project being worked on.

Display Area

The centre of the screen is your main working area. The default display is a list of Jobs associated to a project within a user group.

Tasks Menu

Provided the right permissions have been granted, this menu will allow you to set up the following:

  • Tasks - manage tasks across all projects within a group
  • Connections - add/ edit connections
  • Data Sets - add/edit data sets
  • File Definitions - add/edit file definitions

Tip: If All Projects has been selected, only connections and file definitions will be available from this drop down menu.

Admin Menu

Provided the right permissions have been granted, this menu will allow you to set up the following:

  • Users - add/ edit user details and permissions
  • Groups - add/ edit groups
  • Projects - add/ edit projects
  • Subject Areas - add/ edit subject areas
  • System Settings - configure and manage system settings
  • Deployment - import/ export jobs between environments

User Profile

The username (in a domain\username format) as well as their role are displayed here.

Screen Refresh Option

This option allows you to set the frequency of your screen refresh. By default it is set to 1 minute.

The available refresh options are:

Refresh options
20 seconds
30 seconds
1 minute (default)
2 minutes
5 minutes
10 minutes
Refresh Now
Do Not Refresh